A Healthy Breakfast

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have been working out with POP Pilates and have been eating clean. One of the best things about clean eating, is that it really allows you to eat MORE. Crazy right?!

Image

Source: Google

Eating clean consists of consuming unprocessed foods (aka no added sugars) other ingredients that you can’t pronounce (maltowerhfbwawlblablablah, anyone?) whole foods like fruit as opposed to fruit juice (LOADS of sugah).

Some days during the week I like to make oatmeal. I make instant, although Steel cut is so much better. I need to buy this. I will. I promise… anyway, I love using different kinds of fruit toppings or my oatmeal. More protein and more flavor! Keeps it from becoming boring.

To make:

  • ½ cup dry oatmeal
  • 1 Cup water or milk
  • 2 Tbsp Chia seeds (I used Nutiva)
  • 1 Tbsp Flax seeds
  • 1 Tbsp hulled Hemp seeds (Red Mill)
  • Cinnamon – as much as you prefer
  • Fruit of your choice
Image

Ch-ch-ch-Chia! … I just had to..

ImageImage

Image

Cinnamon and Flax!

Image

Delicious blueberries and Peach

*I used bananas in one of the pics and blueberries and peach in the other. I didn’t like the way the banana photos came out. I’m weird*

Boil the water or heat the milk, depending on what you choose to use.

Throw the oatmeal in the saucepan once water is boiled and stir. Mix in the Chia seeds, hemp seeds, and flax. Stir several times. Let the oatmeal absorb all the liquid.

You can either include the cinnamon at this point, or wait til the end. I LOVE cinnamon so do both.

Put in your fruit of choice, stir. Pour into bowl.

Enjoy!

What are some of your favorite ways to play up bland oatmeal? x

Leave a Reply

